top of page

 

Andragogy

with 

Andraya.

 

 

  • Writer's pictureAndraya Goodwin

7 Ways to Learn About Networking Events in Dallas-Fort Worth

Updated: Sep 7, 2018



It’s true what they say… It’s about who you know! I am often asked how I learned about the opportunity to work with the Make-A-Wish Foundation, and I have to be honest I didn’t have to look very far for it.


I actually met someone at a local networking event in downtown Dallas, who connected me with someone at the North Texas Chapter, who connected me to even more people! You see, I didn’t find this opportunity by conducting endless research on the foundation, or connecting with the who’s who on LinkedIn. Instead, I casually shared my skill set and offered my help if they needed it.


People respond a lot better when you’re chill in your approach, honest in your conversation, and humble with your intent. Every conversation you have at a networking event does not have to be all about you! In fact, it’s actually better to just listen. And I mean actually listen, tune into the words that the speaker is using, mentally connect your personal experiences to theirs and for goodness sake, do not interrupt!


Click here to learn more about how to be a great listener.


Networking in Dallas-Fort Worth


Dallas-Fort Worth is an amazing place to meet new people. The metroplex is full of innovators, entrepreneurs, and go-getters who want to connect and make big things happen!


Here are 7 sources that I use to learn about networking events that are happening in the area:




Congruent Paths produces a fabulous list of events that extends across several industries. You can even sign up for an email to have weekly updates sent directly your inbox with links to the events for easy sign-up.




Eventbrite is a great source because it can lead you to events of all sorts! From conferences to concerts, you will be able to find something to do every day of the week! I also have noticed that the events that I learn about on Eventbrite seem to have some of the most diverse attendees. Perhaps because it is such a centralized source.




MeetUp has a unique element, the attendees that meet from the site tend to be more familiar with each other. I have found this to be nice because the environment is really friendly and this generally extended to new visitors as well.




I mean.. Duh. Aside from Google being what seems like the source of all knowledge, they have a great feature that pulls from popular sites such as eventbrite.com to give you a one-stop shop to fill your calendar with great networking events. I do use google in addition to other sites, because the list is never as complete as the original source.




The Dallas Entrepreneur Center holds events several times a week with great speakers covering topics that can help any business person even if your not an entrepreneur. Also, they have a really cool IT Co-working space that you can tour after events.




ATD Dallas is one of my go-to sources to learn about networking events around the metroplex. I am a little biased since I work in the talent development industry, but it is a fantastic way to connect with like-minded professionals and build your industry network. If you don’t work in the talent development industry, I highly suggest looking at joining a professional association that fits your interests.


7: Organizations and companies that you’re interested in


Dallas-Fort Worth has many of the world’s greatest corporate headquarters located throughout the area. Curate a list of companies that you would like to work for or connect with, check out their website or blogs, and add their events to your calendar!


So get out there and start connecting! It’s easier than you think, and if you’re still unsure check out this article to learn more on how to successfully meet new people, build lasting connections, and build your network!

27 views
bottom of page